Oregon Battle of the Books {OBOB}: Events and Titles

Join us for the second annual Fall Into OBOB series from Roundabout Books! All events are FREE to continue Roundabout's mission to support childhood literacy! Read the books this summer or fall and then Zoom in from home to chat with the author. Host a watch party with your OBOB team, school class, or circle of friends and serve their favorite dinner while they watch! 
 

indie bookstore, bookstore, central oregon, obob

Grade 3-5 events:

10/10: Flor and Miranda Steal the Show, Jennifer Torres
Enjoy carnival rides and deep fried pickles in this warm, funny middle-grade novel about family and friendship.
Event recording available here: https://youtu.be/NwTttTv7i9I

11/2: The Midnight Children, Dan Gemeinhart
This #1 New York Times and Indie bestseller! From the author of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise recounts an extraordinary story about a family of runaway kids who move to a small town, and the outcast boy who finds his voice and his people—for fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamillo.

11/9: Allergic, Megan Wagner Lloyd & Michelle Mee Nutter
A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel featuring a girl with severe allergies who just wants to find the perfect pet!

11/9: Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom, Joan Holub
After pulling a magical thunderbolt from a stone, ten-year-old Zeus goes on the adventure of a lifetime in this thrilling start to a brand-new series!

11/21: The List of Things That Will Not Change, Rebecca Stead
At a time when everything is changing for Bea and her family, the important things will always stay the same. A soon-to-be classic by the Newbery Award-winning author of When You Reach Me.

indie bookstore, bookstore, central oregon, obob

Grade 6-8 events:

10/12: The Blackbird Girls, Anne Blankman
Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history.
Event recording available here: https://youtu.be/uhS5GU1XZCU

10/17: Yusuf Azeem is Not a Hero, Saadia Faruqi
A powerful and relevant story from the author of A Thousand Questions, about friendship, grief, and standing up for what is right. The ideal next read for fans of Hena Khan, Jewell Parker Rhodes, and Varian Johnson—or for any young reader grappling with recent US history and current events.
Event recording available here: https://youtu.be/B6HtKV9bZCM

10/23: Invisible, Christina Diaz Gonzalez
For fans of New Kid and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service... and may just have more in common than they thought.
Event recording available here: https://youtu.be/_t03b7JBItc

11/7: Stowaway, John David Anderson
The beloved author of Posted returns with the acclaimed first book in a coming-of-age sci-fi duology about Leo, a kid trying to navigate the galaxy in order to save his family—and, possibly, the planet Earth.

11/14: Wink, Rob Harrell
A hilarious and heartwrenching story about surviving middle school--and an unthinkable diagnosis--while embracing life's weirdness.

11/16: The Boys in the Back Row, Mike Jung
The Boys in the Back Row is an unabashed ode to friendship with hilariously flawed hijinks and geekiness galore!

11/18: Barefoot Dream of Petra Luna, Alda P. Dobbs
This Indies Introduce and Indie Next Pick is a tale of one family’s perilous journey to cross the U.S. border during the Mexican Revolution that is every bit as relevant and heartbreaking today...now in paperback!

indie bookstore, bookstore, central oregon, obob

Grade 9-12 event:

10/24: The Fountains of Silence, Ruta Sepetys
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship.

Allergic: A Graphic Novel By Megan Wagner Lloyd, Michelle Mee Nutter (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338568905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - March 2nd, 2021

Flor and Miranda Steal the Show By Jennifer Torres Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316306935
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 16th, 2020

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler By E.L. Konigsburg Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780689711817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 1998

The Jumbies By Tracey Baptiste Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781616205928
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 26th, 2016

The List of Things That Will Not Change By Rebecca Stead Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781101938126
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - April 5th, 2022

The Lion of Mars By Jennifer L. Holm Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593121849
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - May 31st, 2022

The Midnight Children By Dan Gemeinhart Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250196729
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - August 30th, 2022

Molly and the Twin Towers: A 9/11 Survival Story By Jessika Fleck, Jane Pica (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jessika Fleck, Jane Pica (Illustrator)
$7.95
ISBN: 9781515883357
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Stone Arch Books - January 1st, 2021

New from Here By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534488311
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 28th, 2023

Swim Team: A Graphic Novel By Johnnie Christmas, Johnnie Christmas (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063056763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - May 17th, 2022

The Trouble with Chickens: A J.J. Tully Mystery By Doreen Cronin, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Doreen Cronin, Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780061215346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 24th, 2012

A True Home (Heartwood Hotel #1) By Kallie George, Stephanie Graegin (Illustrator), Stephanie Graegin (Cover design or artwork by) Cover Image
By Kallie George, Stephanie Graegin (Illustrator), Stephanie Graegin (Cover design or artwork by)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781484746387
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 3rd, 2017

Ways to Make Sunshine (A Ryan Hart Story) By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781547606658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 27th, 2021

When You Trap a Tiger: (Newbery Medal Winner) By Tae Keller Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524715731
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - January 3rd, 2023

Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom (Heroes in Training #1) By Joan Holub, Suzanne Williams, Craig Phillips (Illustrator) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781442452633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - August 7th, 2012

Barefoot Dreams of Petra Luna By Alda P. Dobbs Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781728251660
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - August 2nd, 2022

The Benefits of Being an Octopus: A Novel By Ann Braden Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781510757677
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sky Pony - May 4th, 2021

The Blackbird Girls By Anne Blankman Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984837370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - January 19th, 2021

The Boys in the Back Row By Mike Jung Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781646141593
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - June 14th, 2022

Focused By Alyson Gerber Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781338185980
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - January 5th, 2021

A High Five for Glenn Burke By Phil Bildner Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250763280
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 23rd, 2021

The Hobbit By J.R.R. Tolkien, J.R.R. Tolkien (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J.R.R. Tolkien, J.R.R. Tolkien (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780547928227
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 18th, 2012

Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

Katie the Catsitter: (A Graphic Novel) By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - January 5th, 2021

Other Words for Home: A Newbery Honor Award Winner By Jasmine Warga Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062747815
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 6th, 2021

Partly Cloudy By Tanita S. Davis Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062937018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 3rd, 2023

Powerless (Supers of Noble's Green #1) By Matthew Cody Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780375844898
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - April 5th, 2011

Stowaway (The Icarus Chronicles #1) By John David Anderson Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062985958
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walden Pond Press - June 28th, 2022

Wink By Rob Harrell Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781984815163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - January 12th, 2021

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero By Saadia Faruqi Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062943231
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 13th, 2022

The City Beautiful By Aden Polydoros Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781335452740
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Inkyard Press - August 9th, 2022

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) By Holly Black Cover Image
$12.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780316310314
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - December 4th, 2018

The Final Six By Alexandra Monir Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062658951
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - February 4th, 2020

Firekeeper's Daughter By Angeline Boulley Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250866035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - April 25th, 2023

The Fountains of Silence By Ruta Sepetys Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780142423639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 29th, 2020

Furia By Yamile Saied Méndez Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9781643751894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - February 15th, 2022

Gone to the Woods: Surviving a Lost Childhood By Gary Paulsen Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250866554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - January 10th, 2023

House of Hollow By Krystal Sutherland Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780593110362
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - March 1st, 2022

Northanger Abbey By Jane Austen, Marilyn Butler (Editor), Marilyn Butler (Introduction by), Marilyn Butler (Notes by) Cover Image
By Jane Austen, Marilyn Butler (Editor), Marilyn Butler (Introduction by), Marilyn Butler (Notes by)
$8.00
ISBN: 9780141439792
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - April 29th, 2003

Today Tonight Tomorrow By Rachel Lynn Solomon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534440258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 1st, 2021

We Can Be Heroes By Kyrie McCauley Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062885050
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 7th, 2021

The Weight of Our Sky By Hanna Alkaf Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534426092
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - April 27th, 2021